Zhangke Jia



Jia was born in Fenyang in China in 1970. He is considered a leading figure of the "Sixth Generation" of Chinese directors. His films treat themes of alienated youth, contemporary Chinese history and globalization, and are characterized by the usage of a long-take, colorful digital video and his minimalist/realist style. Jia first appeared on the Chinese film scene in the late 1990s and early 2000s with independent features including Platform and Unknown Pleasures, internationally acclaimed despite their limited theatrical runs throughout the world and their underground existence in China. In 2004 his film The World – his first film made with official approval by the Chinese government - was nominated for a Golden Lion at the Venice Film Festival. In 2006 he won the Golden Lion for his film Still Life.


  • Dong (2006)
  • Sanxia haoren (Still Life, 2006)
  • Shijie (The World, 2004)
  • Ren xiao yao (Unknown Pleasures, 2002)
  • Gong gong chang suo (In Public, 2001)
  • Zhantai (Platform, 2000)
  • Xiao Wu (Pickpocket, 1997)
  • Xiaoshan huijia (1995)

Major awards


  • 2006 Venice Film Festival: Doc / It Award, Open Prize

Still Life

  • 2006 Venice Film Festival: Golden Lion
  • 2007 Durban International Film Festival: Best Direction

The World

  • 2004 Venice Film Festival: Nomination for Golden Lion

Unknown Pleasures

  • 2002 Cannes Film Festival: Nomination for Golden Palm
  • 2003 Singapore International Film Festival: Fipresci / Netpac Award – Special Mention


  • 2000 Venice Film Festival: Netpac Award; Nomination for Golden Lion
  • 2001 Singapore International Film Festival: Young Cinema Award


  • 1998 Berlin International Film Festival: Netpac Award, Wolfgang Staudte Award